Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life

It’s funny when you get a glimpse of yourself through others’ eyes.
Sometimes it’s disappointing. Sometimes it’s better than you hoped.

Recently, I was lucky enough to experience the latter when my friend Susan, creator of Travel Junkette, asked if she could feature me on her travel blog. She’s a creative, talented and inspiring person, so I was honored by the invitation and happily agreed to be a part of her new project.

She sent me a bunch of questions; I sent her a bunch of answers. Then, a couple of months later … voila … (part of) my life story was shared with (part of) the world. You can read it here, if you’d like.

Seasonal Worker

Travel Junkette is looking for more seasonal workers to feature. If you or someone you know would like to contribute, email traveljunkette(at)gmail(dot)com.

As the Daily Prompt says, “If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.”

I’d have to say, “No.”

With the help of Susan’s great questions, I now have a written summary of the biggest leaps I’ve taken thus far in my life, and I’m really thankful to have it, but my favorite thing about life is the mystery and the limitless possibility that lies in the unknown.

Yes, sometimes life is frustrating and it’s easy to become discouraged and impatient, but for me, there’s always hope. I always have faith that the future holds great discoveries and lessons and opportunities for growth. Even the trying times are valuable and beautiful in retrospect. Knowing about those experiences ahead of time would ruin the surprise. It would be like watching the end of the movie in the middle.

What fun is that?

That said, I just read this lovely post with a different perspective worth reading.

15 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life

  1. SO awesome!! How wonderful that the rest of the world is getting to find out about you what many of us have always known … you rock. 😉

  2. I really enjoyed the link to the 77 year old blogger. If you were to read your life’s story, it would be important who wrote it. We see things from our own perspective. What would it be like to see our lives from the perspective of others? Would we even recognize ourselves if our story was written by a cast of thousands that observed us? And, can anyone but our self really know what was going on inside while the world was observing us from the outside?

  3. I really enjoyed reading your life experiences and all the thought, effort, searching and planning that has gone into it.

    The philosophy was beautiful too.

    Feliz Año Nuevo.

    Tio Bob

Leave a Reply

