My Year in Photos

Well, I was planning to do it anyway, so when I saw the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures, I couldn’t resist joining in the fun.

2012 started with a month-long escape from the bitter cold of Korea to the warmth and beauty of SouthEast Asia. Malaysia, Thailand and Laos, to be exact.

After an amazing month traveling, it was time to go back to Jeju and enjoy my last few weeks before moving away from Korea.

Next, I spent a week traveling solo in Japan and saw some truly amazing things!

I then escaped the bitter cold of Japan and headed back to Thailand for six weeks–four of which were spent getting my CELTA certification. Somehow, I still managed to fit in plenty of fun.

 

Finally, it was time to head home to America to see my family and friends and take care of some business … like emptying out my storage unit after four years.

It took the better part of a week to sort through and sell or donate everything. Ugh. Never again.

After a month back in the States, it was time to head off on my next adventure … a year in Bangladesh.

Oh 2012! What a year it was! Let’s see what 2013 has in store.

Happy New Year!

17 thoughts on “My Year in Photos

  1. Wow! Your photos are really fantastic and your adventures are real! Congrats for having such an exciting year. I wish you another adventurous year in 2013!

    I thank you for stopping by my blog. I am interested to follow your blog to learn from you about other parts of the world! See you again soon!

  2. Wow! That is an awesome year of adventure. So much discovery of the many amazing places, people and culture. I wish I can have the same adventure. Perhaps one day. I realize now that life is too short not to follow our dreams. Happy New Year!

  3. Hi Angela, thanks for reading DarkhanVillageKyrgyzstan. I just checked out Untitled Adventure and the life you’re living is insane! Bangladesh looks very colorful and busy. I remember having some really tough days in Kyrgyzstan, living with a host family, being treated like a teenager, getting yelled at by my mom and overhearing our neighbors talking about me, but not knowing what they were saying, just that it wasn’t good. The stress was heavy. I would worry that I wasn’t doing a good job representing America, or that they thought I was lazy because some mornings I couldn’t get out of bed and face the surreal world I was immersed in, and so maybe they thought that ALL Americans were lazy and that I was completely failing at my job. My students stopped coming to class because they didn’t have the discipline to learn English, once they realized it was going to take a lot of work. After a while, I stopped going, too. Then my host mom would tell me over dinner that my students were not learning, and that the principal didn’t like me, and that I should “find money” for the school. It was intense. I started grinding my teeth and having nightmares. Then I’d post a few pictures on Facebook or something every once in a while and people in America would be like, “Awww, it looks so beautiful, you must be having so much fun!” Fun? I guess it was fun, but mostly in retrospect. It was more humbling than anything. Now that it’s over, I miss the excitement of being a foreigner. America is boring in comparison, and Americans are a bunch of assholes 😉 Joking. But anyway, I love what you’re doing, and it looks and sounds like the expat life is agreeing with you. Congrats on the success of your blog. It’s very interesting stuff. Stay healthy, stay safe.

    • Ohmygosh! I don’t know how you did it, Brando. Seriously. I sincerely commend anyone who makes it through an entire PC stint. While I can definitely relate to your experience, I know I’ve had it a lot easier … especially because my students are motivated and awesome. They’re the main reason I didn’t call it quits months ago. And, at least for now, I still prefer the challenges of this life to the boredom and a-holes you mentioned. 😉 Although some days, I do dream of a living back in the States in a cozy, comfortable home surrounded by the people I love. Anyway, thanks for the kind words about my blog. I look forward to reading more of yours! One day, when our paths cross again, we’ll have to swap stories in person. Until then, take care!

Leave a Reply

