Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge

Last summer while I was living in Jeju, some friends and I came across an abandoned building along the coast. Naturally, we decided to explore it. Construction had been halted before the building was complete, so rusted rebar was sticking out everywhere. Graffiti (an incredibly unusual sight in Jeju) covered the unfinished walls inside. Uncovered sections of the cement floor led to pitch-black holes that I was certain housed vampires. A tree grew on the stairs. As we wandered around the dank, decrepit place, I was immediately inspired to do a photoshoot there. I imagined one of my beautiful friends in a flowy dress standing in stark contrast to the dirt and decay.

Unfortunately, by the time my friend and I were able to do the shoot, the building had been tightly boarded up. Unless we suddenly developed the ability to scale walls like Spiderman, we weren’t getting in. So we did the best we could with what we could find outside. Not quite what I envisioned, but a juxtaposition of ideas nonetheless.

This week’s photo challenge is to “… try placing an object where it does not belong. Or, juxtapose two different objects. The statements they make together may be contradictory, but remember: break the rules and experiment.”

I’ve been looking at this photo, trying to explain how it fits that challenge, but everything I type sounds like B.S. — much like the English essays I wrote in college. So I’ll leave it up to you, the viewer, to interpret as you’d like.

Just for fun, here are some more photos taken outside the building we couldn’t enter.

To really challenge myself though, I’d like to take a new photo this week that might represent the merge idea better. Wish me luck! And good luck to those of you who are attempting this challenge, too! I’m curious to see what you create.

UPDATE: I couldn’t come up with anything more profound or artistic, so this attempt will have to do.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge

  1. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge : “Merge” – Merged to Destroy « Just another wake-up call

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Merge | Authentic Photography

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge | Project 365 Challenge in 2012

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge « komuter jakarta raya

Leave a Reply

