The D Word

The unread message count in my Gmail inbox has been displaying the devil’s number all day, so I decided it was time to clean house.

douchebag

Flickr photo by gecko.juice

As I was deleting old messages, I came across a restaurant reservation confirmation from a couple of years ago.

My boyfriend at the time had forwarded the confirmation to get me excited about our upcoming date: Dinner and the symphony in San Francisco. The email itself wasn’t especially romantic — just four simple sentences. But reading it reminded me that, in my eyes, he was once a thoughtful, handsome, sweet gentleman who really cared for me. Once upon a time, I didn’t think he was a complete douchebag.

For a brief moment, I wished I could go back to that time. A time before we both said and did things to destroy our relationship. But then I remembered why I call him the D word and the wish quickly departed.

So what did he do to fall from grace? The story isn’t fit for this blog, so you’ll just have to take my word for it, but trust me, the douchebag title is warranted.

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever care for a man who won’t shock me with his bad behavior. If my track record is any indication, the odds aren’t good, but I’m keeping the faith. And for now, I’ll just keep deleting the old.

4 thoughts on “The D Word

  1. Wow….this was such a fitting blog for me to read today…ha ha. We need to catch up. Purging is good, Ang. Not sure if you read my FB status, but I found a great quote that is apropo here. “Wisdom is nothing more than healed pain.” ~Robert Gary Lee

  2. “Don’t worry about the people from your past…..there’s a reason they didn’t make it to your future.”

    =)

  3. Ah isnt it funny how we put on rose coloured glasses when we first meet someone and hey put on their best behaviour … So much easier if people just be themselves at all times .. But then life is about experiences and learning from the past 🙂

Leave a Reply

