Day 30 – The Final Challenge: Reflect and Share

I’ll definitely be sticking to the easy version of today’s challenge.

When I had the bright idea to attempt multiple challenges in a single day, I didn’t consider the fact that this challenge falls on a Monday, my most draining of the week — not to mention a Monday following the big beach volleyball tournament. Sun and sand and sports make Angela a very tired girl. I barely have enough energy to type this post, but it’s the last day of the challenge so I must persevere!

As you can see, I’ve completed the self-portrait part of the task. Notice the fat lower lip that complements my lovely sunburn? As they say here in Korea, “Nice-uh!”

Okay, so let’s get down to the reflecting and sharing part of the task.

I’ll start with a funny story.

Yesterday, my friend Stephen asked me how the challenge was going. I was telling him about it when another male friend interrupted us to compliment Stephen’s hair. It was slightly awkward, and I was a little irritated that our conversation had been derailed by a superficial observation. Then I remembered the Day 18 challenge, Share Every Compliment. My reaction changed from irritation to appreciation. I then explained Day 18 and commended him for speaking the kind words. He replied with something like, “Yeah, I always share every compliment. That’s why people think I’m creepy.”

I had to laugh because his delivery was awesome, but also because it’s true, and it reinforces the discussion that occurred on the Day 18 blog page. Compliments, sadly, are a tricky business.

While we’re on the subject, I noticed something else about compliments: I’m not as good at accepting them as I thought.

This weekend, I proved that, while I may not be a star volleyball player, I can serve the ball pretty well. It’s the one contribution I felt I made to the team. Ironically enough, every time my teammates would praise me after a string of solid serves, I would mess up. It’s like the pressure of the praise was too much for me to take. Clearly I have more work to do in that department.

Let’s see. What else did I learn this month?

Well, for starters, when I created the list, I couldn’t help but imagine how the challenges might turn out. I didn’t really have expectations, but I had general ideas about what I would do to fulfill them. None one of them played out as I thought they would.

For instance, Bin Laden’s death occurring on Day 2 (Avoid the News) was almost comical. Who could have predicted that? Or the fact that the documentary I chose is now influencing my vacation plans. Or that, on any other day besides today, I might be able to make more eloquent observations.

It strikes me that this is exactly like life: Unpredictable and connected — always.

Alright, it’s time to wrap this up, but I can’t publish this final challenge without acknowledging my father and uncle. They have been the ultimate — and unexpected — steadfast participants during this 30 days. Hearing their stories and having their support is a gift I will always cherish.

Thank you to all the other people who have shared feedback and kind words as well. It really means a lot to me.

One last thing: This challenge confirmed for me that it’s both easy and fun to spread positive energy. Let’s all do it more often!

Thank you for participating. Please feel free to add your comments to any of the challenge posts at any time.

4 thoughts on “Day 30 – The Final Challenge: Reflect and Share

  1. First, I want to thank you for doing this. I was happy at the outset that you finally started a blog. I’ve read that the only way you can really get into writing is to just write. As I’ve said before, I think this is your calling and you were finally putting yourself in a position where you forced yourself to write. But, more than that, I actually looked forward to each day, trying to figure out some way to meet the challenge of the day. It was fun! In the process, I learned more about you and feel I know Walt better too. I really liked the depth of Walt’s comments. I am going to miss this task each day.

    As for my favorite challenge, I’d have to say that it was to create a playlist. We had a very busy weekend and had no time for this. However, when we got home and I started a half hearted effort to complete it, YoM came over and we began to surf the songs on YouTube. We had been planning on watching a Harry Potter movie, but got so engrossed in songs that we spent the rest of the evening on YouTube. The songs that make us smile are endless, but we had fun selecting the ones we shared. I also realized how thankful I am that YoM and I share very similar tastes in music. I toured your songs and had the thought that a long car ride with you might lead to some conflicts. (Yes, I know you have a wide variety of tastes and that we share many common musical interests. I was really surprised to find that you liked rap, which I detest. Like I said earlier, I learned some things about you during the challenge.)

    I also had some fun with the poem challenge. I was pleased that you “got it.”
    Did I find some new, deep meaning through this process? No. But I wasn’t looking for that. I have finally started to be comfortable with who I am, as I am. I just looked at it as a fun way to face each day and support a daughter that I love very much.

    • Thank you, again, for all your support. I’m a lucky daughter indeed. As for our differing musical tastes, thank goodness we don’t like all the same music! That would just be weird. Also, the songs you didn’t like are more hip hop than rap, but I’m guessing the distinction is unimportant to you. ; ) In any case, I’m delighted to know the playlist challenge was so fun for you and Nancy. That just makes me SMILE! =)

Leave a Reply

