Day 20: Create Something

As a teacher, I create something almost every day. Today, for instance, I introduced my students to Mexico and we made piñatas. They LOVED the lesson, so in addition to piñatas, we created fun! 😉

For the challenge, though, I had the brilliant idea to make a video using some photos I took on Buddha’s birthday. Turns out the idea wasn’t so brilliant after all. I forgot how time-consuming  it is to put together even a short, simple video. This sucker took a few hours … and it sucks. But I don’t have the time right now to make it better, so let’s just call it a rough-cut preview. I promise to post a better video when I have some time.

So what did you create today? Whatever it was, I hope it turned out better than mine!

To see what’s coming up, check the 30-day Challenge List .

2 thoughts on “Day 20: Create Something

  1. I created quite a mess. Of course the intention was to create an orderly space. All good intentions …. Well, you know. So now I’ll spend the day sorting through the mess to create a pleasant space.
    Another day, I’ll build something. A storage rack in the garage. But there is an artistic project in the works as well with my files of photos. Oh, yea. I think we’ve just returned to the mess!

  2. Like you, I am not sure I have done my best work. Either it is awful or I should copyright it. I have been working on a concept for a movie video of MacArthur Park. I can picture in my mind how the video would would look, based on the scenario I created. It intended to make sense out of the words, which for decades made no sense to me. I did some research after one of your facebook posts. Here is the story line I created.

    He is sitting alone, in the dark, reflecting on an evening gone terribly wrong. Tonight was supposed to be a celebration. Instead, he is in mourning for a lost relationship.

    It began last spring and blossomed throughout the summer. She was the love of his life. Throughout their intense relationship they would spend lazy afternoons MacAurther park. They would stroll hand in hand around the lake, then lay on the grass, just looking at the sun and the sky

    Tonight he had asked her to marry him. He had made all the preparations, dinner at a fine restaurant, music, soft lighting, all the romantic trimmings. He had even had the chef prepare a special cake. It was made to look like the park where their love had flourished. In the center of the cake was a lake and, made to look like a fountain, was an engagement ring.

    When dinner was over and cake was brought out, he asked her to marry him. She had broken into tears, told him she couldn’t, and rushed out of the place. Heartbroken, he paid the bill and left the restaurant with the cake. When he got outside,he noticed that it had started to rain. He set the cake on the curb, removed the ring, and hailed a taxi to his apartment.

    Now, alone with his memories , he sat in the unlighted apartment. Far too quickly, those memories were beginning to melt away in the dark. He thought about the cake. It had become a metaphor for entire relationship. What had gone wrong? He had put real effort into the love. He was sure that he would never be able to duplicate it.

    He tried to stay optimistic. He was young. There would be other loves. He would be happy again. But somehow he knew there would never be another love like the one he had shared in MacArthur Park.

    The actual lyrics:

    Spring was never waiting for us, girl
    It ran one step ahead
    As we followed in the dance
    Between the parted pages and were pressed,
    In love’s hot, fevered iron
    Like a striped pair of pants

    CHORUS
    MacArthur’s Park is melting in the dark
    All the sweet, green icing flowing down…
    Someone left the cake out in the rain
    I don’t think that I can take it
    ’cause it took so long to bake it
    And I’ll never have that recipe again
    Oh, no!

    I recall the yellow cotton dress
    Foaming like a wave
    On the ground around your knees
    The birds, like tender babies in your hands
    And the old men playing checkers by the trees

    CHORUS

    There will be another song for me
    For I will sing it
    There will be another dream for me
    Someone will bring it
    I will drink the wine while it is warm
    And never let you catch me looking at the sun
    And after all the loves of my life
    After all the loves of my life
    You’ll still be the one.

    I will take my life into my hands and I will use it
    I will win the worship in their eyes and I will lose it
    I will have the things that I desire
    And my passion flow like rivers through the sky.
    And after all the loves of my life
    After all the loves of my life
    I’ll be thinking of you
    And wondering why.

Leave a Reply

