Day 12: Eat ANYTHING You Want

As you probably guessed, the timing of this challenge was intentional. I was curious to see how I — and you — would react to a day without limits directly following a day of restrictions.

Would I go crazy and eat every unhealthy food in sight, or would I feel so good after a day of healthy eating that I’d want to continue the trend?

Let’s just say, it’s a good thing I don’t live in the States right now or I would’ve spent a small fortune on decadent meals at my favorite restaurants. Instead, I went to the grocery store and spent a small fortune on some of my favorite American-brand sweets. (The cheesecake alone was about $18 but oh-so-worth-it.)

As I was shopping, a surprising thing happened: I gained unexpected insight into my relationship with food.

Before this challenge, I would have claimed that I already eat pretty much whatever I want. If you looked in my trash bin, you’d see evidence of pizza and ice cream and soda consumption to prove it. But today, I realized my claim isn’t entirely true.

Let’s use my Diet Pepsi addiction as an example. I know I should cut out soda altogether, but I don’t want to, so I don’t. I do, however, curb my consumption. Most days, I would love to drink three or four or five Diet Pepsis, but usually, I only drink one or two.

But having the freedom to eat ANYTHING for a day, made me pay more attention to my cravings. I discovered I have a lot of them. I also discovered that somewhere between conscious and subconscious thought, I bargain with myself about which cravings to indulge.

No, Angela, you can’t get a Snickers bar. Remember that pint of ice cream you ate in one sitting last night? Yes, you can eat a few gummy worms, but only a few.

As I write this, I’m aware that the cravings I have here in Korea are extremely different from the ones I have at home. When I’m in America, I rarely desire chocolate. Here, I can not get enough. I don’t really understand it, but it must have something to do with the flavors in the food here.

I also realized why I don’t give into all my cravings. I’ve learned that I feel like absolute crapola when I do. Remember my healthy dessert from yesterday’s challenge? Well I cut up the strawberries and melted the chocolate and put them atop an enormous piece of cheesecake — which I haven’t been able to finish yet — and honestly don’t think I will. I can’t even look at all those other sweets right now.

But I will go have another soda.

How did your day of indulgence go?

Tomorrow’s Challenge: Take a Detour
To see what else is coming up, check the 30-day Challenge List .

4 thoughts on “Day 12: Eat ANYTHING You Want

  1. Angela, I love this 30-day Challenge and have been reading your posts. You’re a fabulous writer and I find myself being sucked in by each story. I so admire you for your bravery and positivity during your own adventure.

    I could related to this challenge because I used to say that I eat anything I want also. I tend to use restraint and portion control more often than not. What’s got me hooked on eating healthy most of the time is the fact that junk food often makes me feel horrible. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for chocolate and my latest guilty pleasure is tortilla chips and homemade salsa, but I try to be “good” most of the time. Besides, salsa is all veggies so it cancels out the copious amounts of tortilla chips, right?

  2. To eat anything I want…. Hmmm….. Does not include binging on junk food or eating too much for me. Don’t like the way I feel after. So today is a day of savoring flavors and aromas of all those good foods I choose. Maybe, just maybe that will include a stroll to the favorite neighborhood haunt, Al’s Big Burger, for what a real burger should taste like treat. Yum:)

  3. I began with two slices of salami before breakfast. Hit Mickey D’s at lunch for a burger and fries. Grazed all the booths at Sam’s Club in the afternoon and ordered the spiciest dishes on the P.F. Chang’s menu for dinner. Burrrp.

    (A pretty standard diet for me.)

Leave a Reply

