Day 6: Watch a Classic Movie You’ve Never Seen

I love movies. Movie marathons are one of my absolute favorite pastimes. Normally, though, when I want to lose myself in cinematic bliss for hours and hours and hours, I seek out a nice mix of obscure art-house/foreign films and mindlessly entertaining new releases. I don’t know why, but I’m not usually drawn to the classics, so I had no idea what movie to choose for today’s challenge.

To make my pick, I consulted AFI’s 100 greatest movies list.

Thanks to the Film Studies classes I took in college, I was intimately familiar with the “important” ones, like Citizen Kane and Sunset Boulevard. And who hasn’t seen The Sound of Music or The Wizard of Oz? (Although, I’m not sure I’ve actually watched The Sound of Music from start to finish in one sitting.)

As I scanned the list, I paused on Some Like It Hot, but remembered I’d seen at least some of it already. A little further down, my decision was made when A Streetcar Named Desire called out to me like Marlon Brando wailing to STELLLLAAAAAA!

I can’t believe I’d never seen this film before, and I was excited to finally learn what all that fuss was about. Of course, I knew the famous “Stella” line. I knew the film had been nominated for a bunch of awards and contained Brando’s landmark performance. But that’s all I knew, and I wasn’t sure I would be impressed.

I mean, let’s be honest, the classics may be classic for good reason, but not all of them appeal to everyone. For instance, I tried to watch Westside Story (another classic I have surprisingly avoided) a few months ago, thinking I would love it. I couldn’t even finish it. Blasphemy, right? But I just thought it was dumb. Keep in mind: Singin’ in the Rain is one of my all-time favorite movies.

As I watched A Streetcar Named Desire, I definitely understood why it’s on AFI’s list. An adaptation of Tennessee Williams’ Pulitzer Prize-winning play, the story explores themes that are still relevant and interesting today. Plus, it’s exceptionally well-acted and offers the amazing light and shadow you only see in black and white films. Truly worth watching.

So what classic movie did you watch today?

Tomorrow’s Challenge: Take a 24-hour Break from All Social Media

8 thoughts on “Day 6: Watch a Classic Movie You’ve Never Seen

  1. A few months ago I was at a bar and Breakfast at Tiffany’s was on the big tv in the corner. I couldn’t even hear it, but I was still glued to watching Audrey, trying hard not to ignore my friends! So I was planning on watching that, but now I kinda want to see Streetcar, too. Hmmm, may be a double feature on my couch tonight 🙂 I’ll report back later!

  2. Gone with the Wind. Looking forward to finally watching this Civil War romance. Guess it is a good follow-up to challenge 4, appealing to both male and female characteristics of my thoughts. Wanted to see it for decades.

  3. I am in a location where I can only watch streaming video. So, I went to Netflix watch instantly and searched their list of classics. I selected a film under epic classics, The Inn of the 6th Happiness. I hope to watch it later tonight–on the computer. Ingrid Bergman stars.

  4. Hey! We saw West Side Story several times, both movie and play. The first time was when I, Walt, was quite young and living in Chicago. We kids identified with the hair styles, the language, the snapping of fingers, the “coolness” of the image. That the movie/play was set to a dance/musical is typical of the time. The intention was to make a “modern” day version of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. We think it was successful.

  5. I also went to Netflix, looking to see if Raging Bull was available instantly. It is and I’ll probably watch tonight. The Netflix search engine suggested I might really be searching for Herbie Goes Bananas. Ummm….huh?

  6. My sis and I watched THE THIRD MAN, a British film noir from the late 40’s. They don’t make movies like that anymore!

Leave a Reply

