Day 5: Sing at the Top of Your Lungs

I unintentionally scheduled this challenge on Children’s Day — a national holiday in Korea — a day when I didn’t have to work.

When I first imagined the challenge, I thought it would be difficult to find a time and place where I would feel comfortable singing at the top of my lungs. I live in an apartment building where sound travels much too easily, so I’d be worried someone would hear me. I drive a crazily painted van that draws a lot of attention, so I’d be worried someone would see me. But on this day, those worries didn’t matter because I was with fun-loving friends all day.

The real challenge became choosing a song that I could really SCREAM OUT. The point of this challenge, for me, was to let down all defenses and release.

I tried a few songs while driving around with one of my friends. Having her with me somehow took away the fear of judgement I would have felt if I were alone. Yet, I wasn’t able to give the songs everything I had. Finally, in the afternoon, at a Cinco de Mayo party in the park, I asked for suggestions on a good song  — one that was positive and upbeat — one that I could really, truly sing at the top of my lungs. A friend proposed Whitney Houston’s “I Wanna Dance with Somebody.” Immediately, a few of us began belting out the chorus together. It was perfect. Mission accomplished.

But I still feel like I could have given more. Perhaps I should tackle this challenge when I’m not protected by the presence of friends. Perhaps next time I’ll sing “Bicycle Race” by Queen while I’m driving my crazy van. Who cares if people stare? They already do it anyway. (Watch the uncensored version of Queen’s original video to see some truly uninhibited people.)

Yellow Fever, my beloved bicycle.

Pedro, my beloved van.

What song did you choose and where did you sing it?

Tomorrow’s Challenge: Watch a Classic Movie You’ve Never Seen

13 thoughts on “Day 5: Sing at the Top of Your Lungs

  1. This one was easy for me because I do this almost every day! This morning I was singing “Midway Park” by Whiskeytown in my car on the way to work, with the windows down. I know some of the joggers I passed heard me because a few of them looked at me as I drove past them with a “WTH” look on their face.

    • Wow. I finally had a chance to watch this. And then I had to Google the timing of the feminist movement. This must’ve been popular before the second wave, which began in the early ’60s, had a chance to take hold. If this is how men think women think, they’ll never understand us.

  2. By the way, I heard about a guy in a convertible at a stop light, singing the above song along with the radio at the top of his lungs. This was in the ’60s, long before the gay revolution. He glanced up and noticed he was stopped next to the cab of a semi.
    The look he got from the driver was enough to cause a gender change without an operation. Be careful what you sing, and where you sing it.

  3. Awww…. I ❤ Pedro.

    I'm driving to San Antonio (about 90 minutes away) later today, and will allow whatever song I recognize on the radio come exploding out of my vocal chords. That'll be my "alone" attempt, as Avery and I chorused "Old MacDonald" earlier this morning, in unison. Since I live in TX and still have CA plates, people kind of look at me weird, anyway, so, I'll just go for it. =)

    Keeping with your theme here, it's SO AWESOME to witness the carefree, pure energy of 3 year olds….Avery didn't give a crap if someone watched him, heard him, thought he was being goofy, noticed he missed a note, or was otherwise bothered by the sound. He wanted to, so he did. When did "that" change for us? Hmm.

    • Yeah, Tara, I know. It’s so fun to watch kids. And it’s so much easier to be carefree around them. Today, teaching my 1st and 2nd graders, I was singing at the top of my lungs to get them excited about phonics and they loved it.

  4. Oh, I didn’t know HOW I was going to get this one because I was all work all day, but then I got invited to a Cinco de Mayo rooftop bbq and then some Backstreet Boys came on my friend’s playlist … and next thing I knew, I was singing at the top of my lungs!!

  5. This was one of the challenges I was looking forward to. I kind of love to sing at the top of my lungs! My friends from Korea will not be surprised when I say my song of choice was Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody!

Leave a Reply

